TXConnect Membership Summit Recap

By TTA Staff

The TXConnect Membership Summit of TTA was held in San Antonio, Texas, on August 18. Due to concerns over the pandemic, TTA leadership determined it was necessary to pivot the event from our traditional in-person four-day summit to a one-day event that was securely streamed to our member companies and associate members.

With a limited number of company managers and staff on-site in San Antonio, we were able to share our program with almost 100 viewers who participated remotely.

After the opening ceremonies, the group heard a keynote address from NFL Hall of Fame and Dallas Cowboy Ring of Honor recipient Randy White. TTA President Rusty Moore then asked Randy questions, which led to many funny stories about Cowboy’s Coach Tom Landry and many other prominent Cowboy and NFL players.

Next, a panel of our very talented TTA member company representatives outlined a new initiative designed to provide current and accurate broadband maps for our membership and the public. Using the powerful analytic tool Tableau, TTA analysts will be able to take pertinent company data and turn it into interactive maps. These will visually tell the story of our companies and the great work they are doing connecting Rural Texas.

After a lunch break, VTX1 CEO Dave Osborn and Centurylink Director Scott Stringer announced the recipients of the 2020 TTA awards. Our good friend Blake Lackey, of Curtis Blakely & Co. in Longview, received the Associate Member of the Year award. Blake and his firm are the accountants for the Association and many of our member companies.

TX Connect Award 1
Blake Lackey receives the Associate Member of the Year award.

The Outstanding Achievement award was given to Jennifer Prather, Vice President and General Manager at Totelcom Communications in DeLeon. Jennifer takes a very hands on approach to her position as Secretary on the TTA Board. She consistently and tirelessly strives to make our organization stronger.

TX Connect image 2
Jennifer Prather addresses the crowd after winning the Outstanding Achievement award.

The Neville Haynes award is the Association’s highest honor and recognizes truly exceptional service by an active member. This award was established by the Texas Telephone Association General Membership in 1984 in honor of the late Neville Haynes of Alpine. This year’s deserving recipient is TTA Chairman Rusty Moore of Big Bend Telephone in Alpine. Rusty’s leadership has been stellar through some very rocky times. He was instrumental in rebranding TTA and facilitating the momentum we have today.

TX Connect Award 3
Dave Osborn and past TTA President Scott Stringer present the Neville Haynes award to Rusty Moore.

The afternoon session was capped by a legislative overview by Ian Randolph and John Hubbard of Premier Legislative Consulting. They updated the leadership team about regulatory issues and what we can expect in the 87th Regular Legislative Session, which opens January 12, 2021.

After a brief regulatory meeting, the TTA Board met with all member company managers in attendance. Board members Rusty Moore, Dave Osborn, and Jamey Wigley, of Central Texas Telecommunications in Goldthwaite, were unanimously re-elected to the Board positions. The current TTA Board officers were unanimously re-elected to their offices:

  • President – Rusty Moore
  • Vice President – Charlie Greenberg of Brazoria Telephone Co.
  • Secretary – Jennifer Prather
  • Treasurer – Dave Osborn

The Board would like to thank all of the folks that helped make our inaugural TXConnect Membership Summit a success!