TXConnect Summit Recap

TXConnect, a membership summit of TTA

A few weeks ago, TTA hosted our annual TXConnect Summit in San Antonio (August 15-18, 2021).

Attendees of the TXConnect Summit 2021

We had over 170 attendees for the three-day conference — after the past two years of pandemic-related cancellations, it was good to have everyone together at what felt at times like a family reunion.

We enjoyed some great speakers, great food, great golf (by some), and very successful fundraisers for both our TTA Foundation and the TTA PAC.

Senator Donna Campbell speaking to the attendees.
Senator Drew Springer addresses the attendees.

We were fortunate to be joined by Senators Donna Campbell and Drew Springer, who joined us to discuss the current political climate and voiced their support for rural telecommunications and the Universal Service Fund.

When Texas Senators want to talk telecom, they come to TTA.

Awards Banquet

At our awards banquet, the following members were recognized for their contributions to the Association:

Associate Member of the Year: ISE

Their help in rebranding the association, creating new logos and websites, and hosting our virtual convention and this year’s in-person convention was invaluable to TTA.

Outstanding Achievement Award: The TTA Mapping Team

(Lauren Fleming & Heather Balsinger of BBT, Charlie Cano & Matt Faggione of Etex, and Wes Robinson of Eastex)

This team provided valuable data analytics and robust mapping, which helped us to tell the TTA story at the Capitol and around the state.

Neville Haynes Award: Steven Steele, Peoples Telecom

Our friend Steven, who will be retiring at the end of the year, got well-deserved recognition for his contributions to our industry and some well-deserved roasting from some longtime friends. Well done, Steven!

Plans are already underway for meetings next year — stay tuned for more details.